10 months of Proscar and minoxidil, extremely happy & worry

Tony_Ng

Reaction score
I am newbie here and sorry if my case were explained.

I've been on using proscar 1.25mg and oral minoxidil 5mg for 10 months. Except some traditional herbs, I never try any kind of hairloss medicine before.

Differed from many cases read from this forum, things were immediately amazing to me for the first 7 months. No mega shedding, hairloss slow down - hairloss stopped - hairs grow. Please see the pics underneath.

Before taking meds in July 2005,
tony_top_july2005.jpg

5 months using Proscar and Minoxidil in Dec 2005
tony_top_Dec2005.jpg

However, two months ago, at the end of Mar 2006, I realized an abnormal shedding and reached the top of shedding of 50-70 hair lost after shower only. Now, in May, things seem to better with 20-30 hair lost after shower but I still see the noticeable thinning over my head. I am afraid that I will return to the status of July 2005 soon

My questions are:
1. If Proscar and Minoxidil did worked well to me ( as you can see my Dec photo ), it's still effective to me and the shedding is just temporary. Thus, I should take Proscar and Minoxidil for several months before thinking of other medicines.

2. According to your experience, Is it a kind of "temporary" shedding influenced by medicine ??? and if yes, how long the " temporary " shedding usually happened

3. I know both Proscar and Propecia has finasteride as it's active ingredient. So why my Doctor advises me switch from Proscar to Propecia ( He recommended me proscar firstly ).

Thanks for reading and your ideas are highly welcomed

Goingat20

Reaction score
Re: 10 months of Proscar and minoxidil, extremely happy & wo

Tony_Ng said:

I've been on using proscar 1.25mg and oral minoxidil 5mg for 10 months. Except some traditional herbs, I never try any kind of hairloss medicine before.