25yo at a crossroad. Unsure what to do.

FullMetalGear

Reaction score
Hi folks,

I am 25 years old and have been experiencing gradual hair loss since age 20. I didn't become concerned about it much until about age 23 at which point I decided to seek help. I heard negative things about products like Rogaine and Propecia and so decided to start with the HairMax LaserComb, Nizoral Shampoo, and supplements (biotin and saw palmetto). I followed this regimen for 6 months and then became fed up with it because I was not seeing results. I stopped all treatment.

A little while later I decided to give Rogaine a chance and purchased a 4 month supply. I have been using it for 3 months now in conjunction with Nizoral but haven't noticed much of an improvement. However I plan on sticking to it for at least another 5 months to see if there is any benefit. If anyone knows how to obtain the 5% Rogaine foam in Canada, please let me know. Only the 3% dropper stuff is available in-store in Canada.

I have posted a couple pictures below showing my current hair loss. I am hoping to get some opinions on what my next steps should be. I am considering starting on Propecia and am also looking at the possibility of getting a hair transplant. Here are some of the questions going through my mind.

1. Should I start taking Propecia despite the possibility of crippling negative side effects?
2. Is using Rogaine without Propecia a futile effort? Am I wasting my time?
3. Is hair transplant a viable option for me at this age and my stage of hair loss?
4. Should I get a hair transplant instead of starting Propecia (this would avoid any of the potential side effects of Propecia)
5. Should I begin using the HairMax laser comb and taking vitamin supplements again or are these methods not going to make much of a difference?