31y, NW5 - hair piece + lots of sports/sweating? fast attachment? ... and more

John Lennon

Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'm a 31-year-old musician from Europe. My actual name, however, ain't John Lennon, but you can still call me John, I suppose ;)

I wear hair, long stlye and have some special problems with it. But before I get to my current problem (see below), I'd like to introduce myself to the community by giving some background on...

...my hairloss history:

I started realizing my hair thinning at the age of 18. After informing myself about Propecia, back in 2000, I went to 3 different doctors, but each of them refused to prescribe me that Finasterid treatment that I asked for. They said, there is currently no way of stopping male pattern baldness and that the only thing I could do is go and ACCEPT that nature might turn me into a balding man, as time goes by.

So, after those 3 attemps of getting finasteride, I sadly tried to get along with the idea of having thin and thinner hair for the rest of my days. My main problem is the crown area where balding went really fast. First, I tried to cover the balding area by some comb-over, later I decided to go for a shorter/medium style, looked even worse. Then I buzz-cut it to 9mm, later on the 6mm... that was absolutely not my style, and it made me very sad because long hair had always meant a lot to my lifestlye. As an adolescent, I had always wanted to grow long hair, but my parents were VERY strict and very old-fashioned, and they bullied me, each time my hair grew a bit longer. Turning 18, finally, I wanted to start them to grow, but then they were vanishing rapidly.