3alpha-hydroxysteroid reductase and hair loss - a theory from Tressless

feelsbad

Reaction score
Yesterday, joapassos4444, a member of the subreddit Tressless, posted an interesting theory positing that the reason for baldness is low levels of the enzyme 3alpha-hydroxysteroid, which is an enzyme that converts DHT to androstanidol. Androstanidol is known to bind to hair and promote hair growth. There is much more to it than that, but that is my brief summary of his post.

I have no scientific background, but it is interesting and seems well-researched. I thought we could discuss.

fellow1

My Regimen
Reaction score
What about the fact that ALL SSRI usually upregulating 3α-HSD. And SSRI users prone to losing hair.
Both fluoxetine and paroxetine also affected the conversion of DHT to androstanediol whereas fluoxetine further affected conversion of androstanediol to androsterone

Various antidepressants, including the SSRIs fluoxetine, fluvoxamine, sertraline, and paroxetine, the SNRI venlafaxine, and mirtazapine, have been found to activate certain 3α-HSD enzymes

JaneyElizabeth

Banned
My Regimen
Reaction score
can someone give a summary not sure I have the will power to read an r/tressless broscience theory of this length.
Hmm. It's not so much DHT that causes hair loss as it is the lacking of enough amounts of created DHT to be converted into the hair-friendly anabolic steroid,

Androstenedione.​