5 years since I noticed my hairline recession....

JaySizzle

Established Member
Reaction score
I don't even remember what it was that caused me to notice that my hair was receding. I guess the way I styled my hair, made it very hard to tell anything was up with my hairline. I just remembered that the day I noticed was the worst thing I ever felt. To me, it felt like it came out of nowhere. I did not have diffuse thinning or shedding. That was the day I became obsessed with my hair, especially my hairline. I can still hide it very well styling it. My crown has filled in very nice, but my hairline is slowly getting worse. It had been stabilized until the last year, when I noticed a bit more recession, along with thinning around the area that was already receded... Crown is still thick. The following is what I have been using religiously for the past 5 years.

1) Nizoral 2% 3-4x/week
2) Kirkland minoxidil 5% liquid 1x/day

I was also on saw palmetto for the first 4 years, but I stopped taking it from 2011-2012, as I was away and was too lazy. I was unsure whether it did anything, but from 2011-2013 is when I noticed my hairline getting worse. So maybe the SP was helping. I started back up on the SP and have been on it for about 3 months now. I did notice some testicle ache after taking the SP so hopefully it does have similar effects as finasteride, since that is one of the sides for finasteride. No more testicle ache though, as it only seemed to be present the odd time here and there during the first month. I also have added dermarolling to the equation, and have been doing that 1x/week for the past month. So here is my current regimen

1) Nizoral 2% 3-4x/week
2) Kirkland minoxidil 5% liquid 1x/day
3) dermaroller 1.0mm 1x/week
4) just ordered spironolactone and will be applying it 1x/day before bed to the hairline (hopefully it will work)!
5)SP extract 320mg 1x/day