Activities to captivate my students

Belmondo

Established Member
Reaction score
I am now a Tourism and Economy teacher in Portugal and it's not easy. The kids (ages 16-19) are ruthless critics and the school has no money.

So, what can I do to make classes more interesting?

Here are some of the activities I've already tried:

a) A trip on the Ho-Ho bus around the city of Funchal. The kids loved it!

b) We did a blog about tourism.

c) Role playing: the kids worked in groups and did a job interview for an airline company. Then the whole class selected the best candidate and I surprised the two winners with movie tickets!

d) Lots and lots of short videos (long feature films don't work, classrooms are too uncomfortable for that).

e) Poster design: they loved this one, too!

f) Lots of field trips: the international airport of Madeira and a travel agency are next on the list.

Any other ideas?

DoctorHouse

Reaction score
Have the kids create their own Theme Park that would attract alot of tourism. A Prize to the 3 best ideas. Have the class vote on whose idea is the best once they present it to the class.

Belmondo

Established Member
Reaction score
DoctorHouse said:
Have the kids create their own Theme Park that would attract alot of tourism.

This is excellent.

I wish I had thought of this when we were studying the different types of hotels & resorts. We're not familiar with theme parks here in Madeira but a resort could have worked.

DoctorHouse said:
A Prize to the 3 best ideas. Have the class vote on whose idea is the best once they present it to the class.

I'm not so sure about this part, though. It's not easy to choose the best ideas in this case (i.e. too ambiguous and vague).

We did that with the job interview (I gave movie tickets to the best students)but the objectives of the activity were simple and clear.

Thank you very much, House!

Any other ideas, guys?

HughJass

Reaction score
some kind of fundraising activity.....