Advice needed RE drugs and hair transplant

Dweezel

Reaction score
Hi All

I've been browsing this forum for a while but this is my first time posting. I first noticed my hair loss at 22 and I'm know 35. The picture below gives an indication of the hair loss (and the hair I want to get back) during this 13 year period. I'm guessing I'm an NW2, what do you think?

-Please excuse the dodgy felt-tip pen line. :)
one.jpg

There is male pattern baldness on both sides of my family, but the most severe case is only about an NW3. The main pattern of hair loss on both sides of the family is for a long slow recede at the temples and occasionally thinning on the crown. My crown is fine at the moment by the way.
I need to start a treatment regimen with a view to stabilising my hair loss prior to a hair transplant. A combination of minoxodyl and finasteride seems to be the most popular choice. I'm a little concerned about finasteride. Taking pills that alter my body's hormone balance for the rest of my life seems a little extreme.

Though my hair transplant is a long way off (I'm guess about 18 months) I've started looking around for the best doctors. Money will not be any object for this surgery as I have no intention of scrimping for this. As I'm sure you all understand it is extremely important to me that I get a good result. I'm in the UK but am planning on travelling to the US to get this done having read posts on this forum.