Anyone here had a transplant without taking propecia after?

jd_uk

Reaction score
...and if you didn't was it because you had already lost nearly all hair which would be susceptible to balding so there was no need?

What were your results long term after having the transplant and future hair loss?

ajax

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm no expert but i'd imagine someone who has lost all their hair wouldn't be a good candidate for a hair transplant. I'd imagine that the amount of donor hair available wouldn't yield an acceptable coverage by any means, and leave a very poor result.

Maybe someone more in the know could back me up on this?

Would hate for someone to get a hair transplant and be left with a bad result

Mens Rea

Reaction score
dudemon said:
ajax said:
I'm no expert but i'd imagine someone who has lost all their hair wouldn't be a good candidate for a hair transplant. I'd imagine that the amount of donor hair available wouldn't yield an acceptable coverage by any means, and leave a very poor result.

Agreed 100%. IMO, NW4+ is going to have issues getting decent enough density for an acceptable and convincing end result, even after all available donor is used up. You can do BHT to increase the donor, nut IMO, too much body hair on your head will look rather odd, and "odd" = detectable hair transplant.

So, IMO, NW4+ would most likley be better off just shaving or buzzing it down and forgetting about hair transplants altogether. Sure their a a few "best case scenario" examples that prove to the contrary, but most of the time NW4+ will get crappy final results from hair transplants.

(NW4 = borderline, and could go either way)