AoR's Story

AoR

Reaction score
Hello Everyone!
So my story is probably very typical. I'm 24 years old and first noticed my temporal recession when I was 20. I managed to keep the thought of going bald out of my head for as long as possible, but before long there was no question I was receding.

Even though my hair loss was barley noticeable in the first two years, I still became crazy self-conscious about it. I began growing my hair long and parting it in really strange ways so I could comb the hair over my exposed temples. I at one point purchased a bottle of Rogaine and tried putting it on my temples, but the bottle's warnings that it wouldn't work on the hairline and the fear of shedding even more hair scared me away.

About two and half years into my hairloss, about when I graduated from college, I experienced by most shocking discovery when I realized both that the crown/vertex area of my head was mildly thinning, and that the previously thick center tuft of my hairline was also beginning to recede. This was definitely the most stressful part of the process as I was finally entering the phase where I could no longer completely conceal the loss. It was clear not just to me, but also to anyone paying attention, that I was balding.....

So fast forward to now, I've gained quite a lot of prospective. My hair loss is definitely noticeable, but it's still progressing relatively slowly, and I'm still looking pretty good. I luckily found a super-supportive girlfriend that assures me I would be attractive even if I were totally bald! And now I deeply regret being so self-conscious about my hair in those early days, especially since I still had a magnificent head of hair. These days I know to be happy about what I have left. And thanks to sites like this I know there really are ways to fight this process!