Bald Heads Anonymous -My Introduction-

IAgainstI

Reaction score
I feel like these introductions should be somewhat formatted as an Alcoholics Anonymous meeting: Hi everyone, my name's -name-, and I've been losing my hair for about 5 years now. *Holds back sniffle, wipes at tears of relief, and looks around nervously...* "Hi -name-," the crowd murmurs. An awkward shifting of seated positions amongst the audience temporarily blinds me as the light from the ceiling is reflected off the crowd's various-sized bald spots and directly into my eyes. I pause, take a deep breath, and continue....

All jokes aside, I find myself somewhat relieved and extremely confused by my decision to join this community. A myriad of emotions, primarily doubt and frustration, have led me down this path (a path I'm sure many of you have walked). I'm pretty sure it was the last gal who casually pointed out that my hair loss "really wasn't that bad" that convinced me I needed a more solid support network. A group of people who wouldn't just casually excuse my anxiety over hair loss as "no big deal", like it would miraculously cure my increasingly bald head.

If hair loss was ranked on a ten point scale of emotional defeat, then I'd be somewhere around the 5 mark these days. I'm an optimist.