Can minoxidil make healthy hair dependent??

Luther007

Established Member
My Regimen
Reaction score
Hey guys, quick question...

I've been using minoxidil for about 6 months now. At first, I used it ONLY on my right temple, which I KNEW (from my Doctor) to be thinning from male pattern baldness. Recently (about 3 months ago) I started using it on my left temple, which was NOT noticeably thinning... in the hopes that I may PREVENT it from thinning.

Well, my right temple has since improved (hurray!) and it looks actually pretty good.. BUT, now my LEFT temple, which was NOT thinning up to 4 months ago is thinning out like mad!! And receding!! Could it be possible that my left temple, which was not thinning, could've somehow been "triggered" into male pattern baldness when the minoxidil was applied, and is now shedding as if minoxidil dependent, when it wasn't before?? Is this a possibility? If so, should I stop using the minoxidil on my left temple and keep just using it on my right one??

Any information much appreciated!!

-Luther

Andrew

Established Member
Reaction score
all your hair will be dependent once u use minoxidil...

Yardbird

Established Member
Reaction score
Luther007 said:
Could it be possible that my left temple, which was not thinning, could've somehow been "triggered" into male pattern baldness when the minoxidil was applied, and is now shedding as if minoxidil dependent, when it wasn't before?? Is this a possibility? If so, should I stop using the minoxidil on my left temple and keep just using it on my right one??

First of all, I've never heard of anyone having male pattern baldness on just one temple and not the other. There's always a level of symmatry to male pattern baldness, so there's no way you have one temple affected by male pattern baldness with the other temple consisting of DHT-resistant hair. If one side thins, the other side is sure to follow. If your right temple is thinning, your left temple is thinning as we speak.