Comb-over's Story

combover

Reaction score
hi there,

i am a newbie and just thought i'd share my story, in the hope of maybe some advice!

i'm nearly 28 year-old male, relatively fit (though had a recent injury that had subsided my ability to play sport for a while), with a busy lifestyle (job, etc) but no major stresses in life apart from the obvious.

i have always had really thick hair - my mother's family all have thick hair and my father did til his mid-40s, and is thinning a fair bit now, which isn't surprising as he's in his late-50s.

around christmas time i noticed my crown was thinning slightly in comparison to the rest of my head. this summer (may/june) i went on holiday and when i was away i noticed this was developing. however, in the time that i have been back (6-8 weeks or so), this has developed further.

i believe i may have male pattern baldness or telogen affluvium.

the reason i feel i may have the latter is because i, as i have said, am in a very busy job and feel i meet a lot of the criteria. i suffered badly from jetlag upon the return from my holiday, and i also have not eaten well since i was away or since i have been back. as mentioned, i have been unable to do much exercise due to inury, and also recently (and stupidly) tried a crash-diet to lose some excess holiday weight. i also used to use thick gel/glue on my hair to style it, due it's thickness and 'wavy-ness', for about 2 years, which used to bring lots of hair out of my head when i put it in/washed it off. now i am trying to not use any product, as well as taking multivitamins and eating more healthily. also, when hair does come out of my head, it does seem to have a little 'bulb' on the end, which i believe is further evidence of this problem?