Comment on Dr. Gho's research, article...

elguapo

Experienced Member
Reaction score
I think it is totaly awesome to see what he and his team have done. Finally it looks like some progress has been and is being made.

I guess the 40-80% "success rate" has to do with not knowing just how far down to cut the hair follicle to get, and leave behind, an even number of stem cells. I thought it had to do with something else. But this makes sense.

Also, regarding the observation that one newly-implanted follicle can generate not one but three or four hairs, I think it is because some of those stem cells are migrating to dormant follicles, and revitalizing those hairs as well. That's just my opinion- I'm no doctor. It's cool either way. I'm sure, or at least I hope, we figure that out. That sounds like a piece of the puzzle toward the "stem cell cure" approach.

One of my concerns with this process of "splitting hairs" (ha ha!) is that the hairs will simply die out years down the road. No, there is no reason to believe they would. But it is as if we are "tricking" the stem cells into thinking that they are part of a complete hair. I just wonder what happens down the road- if they "catch on to the trick", if you will. Can Dr. Gho comment on this? Perhaps after a year the successfully-transplanted hair follicle is a complete hair, I don't know.