Does baldness run in your family? Which side?

moxsom

Established Member
Reaction score
I see far too many posts of people asking if they have male pattern baldness, posting a picture with no or minimal loss and then everyone going "Get on the Big 3". I know finasteride and dutasteride are super popular if you're worried about hairloss but these are pretty nasty drugs if you don't need to take them. How do you guys decide if your follicles are sensitive? Already losing some ground with hair? Dad was bald at 25? It sucks that there's no sure-fire way to know.

My family is especially weird. My dad has a full head of hair but 2 out of 3 of his brothers are bald. My moms side - no hairloss anywhere, but she did have pretty bad acne (kind of related). Me and my 2 brothers were all losing our hair at a very young age.

I work in the genetics field so I find hereditary traits super interesting. Also, I read a ton about male pattern baldness so feel free to AMA on hairloss genetics specifically

Also, if you could fill out this survey I'd appreciate it. I'm trying to see if there's a need for early hairloss detection because we all know the earlier you find out, the better treatments will be.

https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/PSNYRW5

Folliman

Established Member
Reaction score
Father side: All uncles perfect NW1 until they hit 40 and then start losing it slowly. Grandpa is NW6

Mother side: Two uncles lost it slowly overtime and are NW3 and NW4; Both above 50. One uncle was Slick NW7 by 35. Grandpa is NW2.5

My uncle that is NW7 started losing his hair around my age and my mom says my hair reminds her of his back then. FML :)

IA2015

Established Member
Reaction score
Nope.

I mean it must somewhere but my father hasn't lost hair, nor has my uncles, neither did my grandfather's or great grandfathers - both sides might I add.

The paternal side has always suffered pretty bad acne however, maybe related, maybe say's something about T and sebum? I have no clue.