Does Scalp Pain Mean Propecia Is Ineffective?

doggfather

Established Member
Reaction score
I've been using Propecia for about 13 months now and Nizoral and Tgel for 6 months and about a month ago I had itching and irritation on the hairline area where I am receding. Once I started to apply spironolactone in the morning and Revivogen in the evening my irritation in the hairline area pretty much disappeared, but the weird thing is I've gotten scalp pain and some itching in the crown area. Any possible guesses on what's going on? Has my body adjusted to Propecia and therefore Propecia isn't effective anymore? If so, should I drop Propecia and just start using spironolactone/Revivogen instead? Or has my hair just become ultra-sensitive to DHT and so I have to block even more DHT from forming or binding to androgen receptors? The weird thing is my hairloss was never in the crown area only receding hairline.

socks

Experienced Member
Reaction score
doggfather,

1. Dont' even think about dropping Finasteride

There is no evidence to show Finasteride loses its ability to inhibit the 5ar enzyme over time.

2. The itching can be the result of scalp inflammation due to the autoimmune system attacking the altered DHT hair follicles and/OR it may the result of the topicals you are using (including shampoos, hair styling products etc etc etc).

Ok, now there is the possibility that your hair is naturally becoming more sensitive to the DHT (that is after all why we lose our hair :) ). It may be that your hair is especially sensitive due to your genetic predisposition. That may be causing the hair in the crown to start to becoming damaged and thus attacked by your autoimmune system (just conjecture on my part).