Dumptruck's Story - (Need advice / with pics and background)

dumptruck

Reaction score
Heya guys-

Happy to find this forum. A few years back I laughed at the idea of hairloss, as I've always had the THICKEST hair anyone has ever seen. Hairdressers always used to tell me "when hair becomes money, you'll be a billionaire".

Then I came to college. About two years into it I started noticing some hair falling out in the shower. Being that I'm hairy as heck, I laughed at it. Then it got worse. I started noticing my "culdesacs" in photos. Now that I'm a medical student, people say I have the hairline of Dr. Cox on "Scrubs".

I workout 4-5 days a week, watch my diet, take vitamins, etc. I started using Nioxin, which brought better quality hair but no growth. I have no male pattern baldness on my mom's side (they are all in their 80s with hair) and my dad has a full head. I have no idea how or if I have male pattern baldness. I just know I have continuous loss with more and more skin visible on my forehead. My crown seems fine, but when I comb my fingers through I can easily get 2-3 hairs each time coming out of there.

I need to nip this in the bud; it's nice to have a group of people like you to share this with. I just went through some pretty serious surgery on my frontal sinus, so in another week or so I will be starting a regimen. (post surgery hair loss and oily skin is a pill btw)

After some good reading, I've decided to start Nizoral (1%, 2x a week) and Revita shampoo in between. I'm looking for a good conditioner and the BEST shampoo inbetween Nizoral applications, so if you could post recommendations I would appreciate it.

Otherwise, I think Minoxidil spray (or foam?) 2x a day would be good for working on the hairline and everwhere else. I've debated trying to get on Propecia...I don't know if it would work well on me because I may not have male pattern baldness and I have no visible loss on top...yet.