emjay's story - (25 , diffuse, plus pictures)

emjay

Reaction score
hello,

i thought i would hit these forums and share my experience (still on going).

I have just turned 25 (last week). I started to lose my hair when I was around 18. My father is really bald, and so are the rest of the male seniors in the family. Dad recently had a hair transplant, with no bad results - but something I don't want at the moment.

Anyway, I am in the medical field by profession - so thought I would look into the research, and was surprised to see how much actually information there was out there.

I used to have long hair, and was very proud of it. When I started losing hair, and people noticing, I cut it shorter. This lasted a few years, and then it came through on that! Anyway - I started on minoxidil 2%. That didn't work great, so I moved onto the 5% - used for 6-9 months and great results - but not a full set of hair!!!

Anyway my mum used to pay for my supply, because I was still a student, but stopped buying it me cos she was worried about the side-effects. So I lost loads of hair!!! I am still very down about the whole thing. She bought me a laser comb, which I have been using for 8 months now.

I have pictures of my hair when I got the maximum effect from minoxidil and the loss of hair after 3 months after stopping. The result is shocking!!!

Anyway, I used the lasercomb for 3 months, noticed some improvement, but not as much as minoxidil. In December 2005, I restarted on minoxidil and procerin and got some better results. I have recently started on proscar cut into 4 (so 1.25mg) daily.

I have started shedding a lot over last 2 weeks (I started finasteride nearly 3 weeks ago).

Anyway, as promised some photos!

25.9.05.jpg

this is 3-4 months after stopping minoxidil!

20.10.05.jpg

one month after lasercomb

20.11.05.jpg

2 months after lasercomb

26.12.05.jpg