Finasteride And Trying To Have A Baby

marshmallow

My Regimen
Reaction score
Hi folks,

Just thought I'd sign up and post my experience with taking finasteride 1mg/day and trying to conceive with my wife. We have been trying for a baby since September 2016. We were really trying (as in pinpointing ovulation dates etc). I was worried though...mainly because I was thinning quite badly and I knew that I wanted to try finasteride before it was at the point of no return. I had been thinning for the past 5 years very slowly (I am now 29yrs old). I used minoxidil once daily off and on for the past 5 years but never stuck to it.

I decided to bite the little orange bullet however, and started taking finasteride on the 29th Dec 2016. I had done a lot of research into this and knew the possible side effects that might hinder pregnancy. I also knew and had told my wife that under no circumstances, she should touch or even go near these tablets whether pregnant or not.

So, I started finasteride. For the first 2 weeks, I took 1mg every other day (every 2 days). I just wanted to see how my body would react. In this 2 weeks, there was nothing...no side effects whatsoever. I think my sex drive increased maybe. (some might call this a side effect).

I then decided to go for 1mg per day. All was exactly the same for about 2-3 weeks until I did notice some side effects. These were - watery semen, slightly lowered libido (could still perform when required) and not quite as hard erections (still good though).

After about 2 weeks, the side effects went away. By the way, the pressure to jump to action to conceive is more than I thought it would be. Perhaps a psychological effect that I misdiagnosed as a finasteride side effect. The only side effect that remained was a little more watery semen than usual (before finasteride).