Generic Minoxidil and Azelaic Acid

ShockWave

Reaction score
I'm looking to use these 2 products. I was wondering, if I have diffuse thinning on top and the temples are receeding, if 5% monoixdil and azlaic acid would be good at maintaining my hair loss. I read that azelaic acid inhibits 90% of DHT on the scalp. Is this true and has anyone here been using it or thought about using it?

Bismarck

Reaction score
Is used minoxidil with azelaic acid. When I applied it first time I knowed how the poor people in vietnam felt after a napalm attack.
I would first try minoxidil 5% and see what happens. You can still add other medications if it doesn't help. I'm also sceptical since 90% DHT inhibition would be much more than propecia is able to.

G

I am no pro but I saw a dermatologist a week ago and he told me that azlaic acid was an old cure and really would not do anything to help me keep my hair. :freaked2:

Bismarck

Reaction score
jkriley said:
I am no pro but I saw a dermatologist a week ago and he told me that azlaic acid was an old cure and really would not do anything to help me keep my hair. :freaked2:

Yep, it is still used to treat mild acne.

Leirro30

Reaction score
Topical azelaic acid has been found to be quite effective at reducing DHT on the scalp. I'll post some good, solid studies showing this. Studies are just that, however, and the only way to really know is to try it for yourself. In combination with 5% minoxidil, and used 2x/day, it's quite a potent hair-keeping solution. Add in 2% Nizoral shampoo eod, and perhaps 5% topical spironolactone cream, and you have four of the most powerful, proven hair-keeping products available, with little or no systemic side effects.

Here are some websites that sell some of the above-mentioned products:

www. minoxidil.com (Dr. Lee's comprehensive site)

www. wholesalehairproducts.com (sell a 5% minoxidil/az acid solution as well as topical spironolactone)

www. crinagen.com (Crinagen contains 5% azelaic acid)

Bryan