Giveandgo's Story - (23)

giveandgo

Reaction score
Hey everyone. I'm 23 and I've been losing my hair for a couple years. It got pretty noticeable quickly and I started using Toppik to conceal it. I was using Rogaine but didn't seem to be seeing results, possibly because I wasn't combining it with finasteride. Anyway, recently my hairloss got really bad and I decided to talk to my doctor. He put me on proscar and I started on kirkland minoxidil. I feel like I'm balding in a really weird way, in a strip down the middle instead of the normal pattern. I've been tempted just to stop the toppik and cut the hair really short, but since I have no clue what it would look like and I can't go from looking totally covered (the toppik does wonders) to totally bald right away, I have no clue how to do that. Does anyone have any thoughts?

Attachments

• Hair 2.jpg
    Hair 2.jpg
    468.6 KB · Views: 212
  • Hair.jpg
    Hair.jpg
    401.3 KB · Views: 195

LooseItAll

Established Member
Reaction score
Re: Giveandgo's Story- 23 Years Old

Well you've got super aggressive hairloss, that NW5A at the age of 23. I think saving your hair is unlikely to happen but its always worth giving meds a shot.

Just take proscar, buy some minoxidil and wait.

FSHGLD

Established Member
Reaction score
Re: Giveandgo's Story- 23 Years Old

I would say you'll almost definitely look better with a shaved/buzzed head. Honestly, what have you got to lose? Do you like your hair now? You could buy an electric razor with all the guards for £10-£15.
You'll have a bit of stubble at the top and won't look the same as a totally bald guy, and if you keep using finasteride and minoxidil, you'll hopefully regrow a bit.
I think your chances of regrowing most/all of your hair are very slim, but ask yourself if a small (or maybe rreasonable?) improvement/retaining the status quo is worth it to you.

hopeofhair

Reaction score