Hair Loss Advice.. Transplant? Medication?

Aaron21

My Regimen
Reaction score
Hi, I am looking into getting a hair transplant and currently researching the best places in Turkey. I have had a few consultations and most are saying I have a very good donor area (in the pics its short but when long its very thick). I had 3 consultations and all said around 3500 would be a big improvement.

I have not taken any sort of medication Propecia, Minoxidil, Dutasteride etc.. I am thinking of doing that first but then I was hoping to go for the transplant in September 17 so it may be pointless starting? or it may be worth taking the medication for a year to see what can be done and then doing the transplant.

Have a look at the pictures and let me know what you think.

View attachment 52877 View attachment 52878 View attachment 52879

Last edited:

Dontwannabeabetabob

Banned
My Regimen
Reaction score
Just my opinion as I'm no expert, I'd at least take finasteride for a year then decide. You could see enough improvement where you wouldn't need the transplant, and if you still decide to get it at least you'll know your loss has stabilized.

Pequod

Experienced Member
Reaction score
You should start Propecia and wait to see how well it works, you may have a shed after you start it as the weaker follicles react and eventually grow back stronger. 3500 grafts seems about right once you get a procedure, some for the hairline and the rest to fill in the crown. Your hair looks pretty good though, you have caught it early enough to only need one procedure.

Aaron21

My Regimen
Reaction score
You should start Propecia and wait to see how well it works, you may have a shed after you start it as the weaker follicles react and eventually grow back stronger. 3500 grafts seems about right once you get a procedure, some for the hairline and the rest to fill in the crown. Your hair looks pretty good though, you have caught it early enough to only need one procedure.