Hair transplant or not

2hillpark

Reaction score
Should I get a hair transplant?

I am 22 years old and seem to be a Norwood 2/3?

Should I get a transplamnt as my frntal hairloss is really affecting my self asteem.

Your advice would be greatly appreciated.

I have attached 2 photos.

Reaction score
Hey 2hillpark I'm by no means an expert on hair transplant's but from what I've gathered on here most surgeons would be pretty insistent that you take propecia before surgery and especially after it. This is because at your age you will in all likelihood experience more balding and propecia is potentially going to be the only thing that can prevent that. Otherwise you'll have hair at the hairline but nothing in behind it.

In all honesty, I really think you're going to need to seriously reconsider your position on oral medication. As I say I'm by no means well versed on the intricacies of hair transplant so I'm sure a more knowledgeable poster will be able to give you far more constructive advice.

FWIW mate I'm nearly the same age as you and my hairline sucks so I know how sh*t hairloss can be as my confidence and self-esteem has took a massive dent as well. I'm currently on finasteride and nizoral and will add minoxidil possibly after I reach six month mark on finasteride. I'd advise you try a regimen that works for you before jumping into surgery.

John979

Established Member
Reaction score
Perhaps you should try some of the "custom" topicals that many here find highly effective.

coolio91

Reaction score
Is that first picture you recently?

how does your hair look like a NW1 when not pulled back? how long does it take you to style it?

have people noticed your recession?

also perhaps start taking finesteride for a year and see how it goes, you can always stop if you have problems with it, find it tedious etc

LeesHair

Established Member
Reaction score