Hair transplant, skill vs. technique

DrRonFinger

Reaction score
I am a plastic surgeon and many years ago performed the strip and plug technique on a few patients--enough to know that anything that left a visible scar in the back of the scalp and plugs that looks artificial was not for me. Through the years I kept a watch on the progress and even went to some courses on various flaps for hair restoration. I thought and still think they looked like carpets. Again, not for me or my patients.

Then someone developed the FUE technique and I felt that finally someone has come up with a technique that looks entirely natural. Then automated FUE techniques came about. This has enabled the surgeon/technician to extract larger numbers of grafts with more precision. With this technique available, I began hair transplants again about two years ago and had one done on myself 8 months ago. I couldn't be more thrilled with the results and full density doesn't occur for about 1 1/2 years.