How long after a hair transplant can I use nizoral & Minoxidil?

Simba

Reaction score
Hello folks

I've been using this site for approximately a year now and it has helped me immensley to see that i'm not alone with suffering from male pattern baldness.

What I would like to know is how soon I can return to using Nizoral and Minoxidil after having a hair transplant?. I know from previous experience that I am expected to use shampoo etc provided by the surgeon for 2 weeks after the op, but I don't want to jeopardise the grafts by using nizoral & minoxidil too soon. Incidentally I have been using Proscar for 18 months.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

G

Simba said:
Hello folks

I've been using this site for approximately a year now and it has helped me immensley to see that i'm not alone with suffering from male pattern baldness.

What I would like to know is how soon I can return to using Nizoral and Minoxidil after having a hair transplant?. I know from previous experience that I am expected to use shampoo etc provided by the surgeon for 2 weeks after the op, but I don't want to jeopardise the grafts by using nizoral & minoxidil too soon. Incidentally I have been using Proscar for 18 months.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Upon the advice of my hair transplant Doctor, I started again on post op day 10.

Seemed to work fine. Doctor believes the minoxidil improves the speed and take of the new grafts.

Good luck :lol:

Simba

Reaction score
thanks for that Bruce. You mentioned post op 10 days, did that include using Nizoral aswell ?

zak84

Established Member
Reaction score
i would think nizoral would be beneficial to the transplant because it would help prevent infection

Simba

Reaction score
Me too Zak, however it does seem to be strong stuff and I always have to put moisteriser on after using or else my face dries up big time. I just want to make sure that I am not putting the new grafts in any danger !!!

thinstinks

Established Member