How Much Hair Loss Is Normal On Rogaine/minoxodil?

Tarchukw12

My Regimen
Reaction score
So I was diagnosed with hair loss about a month ago. Started on rogaine and finasteride.

I feel awkward talking about it with people since, on the outside, I have pretty long (down to my elbows) and thick hair, and I've been growing it out for about eight years. It is thinning at the crown, but I am lucky that I caught it in the very early stages.

I am super proud of my hair. I feel endlessly guilty complaining about it to people as compared to the standard patient for hair loss... well, I'm obviously not that person. I get a tonne of compliments on my hair and it's pretty key to my identity.

I've become pretty obsessed about it recently though. I think I've probably entered the shedding phase of minoxodil. Though I know I need to relax, I've noticed that bits keep fluffing off throughout the day (probably about 20-30, maybe more because I don't seem them all) and when I shower I usually lose about another 30-40 hairs. So by now means vast, but there are definitely some days when it's more--on shampoo days (and combined with breakage) I probably lose about 50-70 hairs in the shower alone.

And these are long hairs, so it's a bit scary to see.

I'm obsessing , I know.

It sucks because I am actually trying to minimise hair loss as much as possible. I tie my hair differently now (usually in looser styles). I sleep on satin pillows. I condition my hair properly! And yet I still feel like I'm in uncharted waters. I've tried to research what my hair could be like but I feel like there's nobody else with my experience. I try and speak honestly about my issues to my friends or family and they laugh in my face. I feel guilty because I have hair which I imagine most folks with hair loss would like to have, yet my treatment has actually meant I'm starting to shed it.