How my family found out I was bald

Anthony83

Established Member
Reaction score
I am bored at work, so I thought I would share this brutally embarrassing story.

So going bald since college, I wore a hat all through university and then wore concealer once I graduated. Nobody, except my college roommate knew I was bald. My family all thought I had hair. About 8 months ago, I moved abroad and decided I didn't want to deal with Toppik anymore while I was traveling, so I buzzed it all off and am trying to accept it. Well about a month ago I went home to visit my family and I was determined the show them I am bald and get it over with!

Low and behold, I chickened out, and I wore a hat for the first 4 days...you think that would be obvious right?? I guess not. I was at a dinner on the 5th day with my entire family, aunts, uncles, parents, brothers, sisters, etc. I made the stupid, STUPID, mistake of joking with my sister about how she had a gray hair...

...The next part is in slow motion to me. I see her reaching for my hat to see if I have any gray hairs too, joking around and fun right? Not to a balding guy. I try to grab her hand to stop her, but I am not quick enough. She rips it off and then screams 'Whoa you're going bald!' At this point, my whole family looks over at me...my aunt gasps, loudly. My little brother screams 'Oh my God!' Everyone is looking.

I just sat there, bright red in the face I am sure, looking like a deer caught in headlights. After a few seconds, I grab my hat, put it back on, defeated, and try to change the subject. It was brutal and awkward. Oh, I forgot to mention, I made the mistake of sitting right underneath a very bright light in the restaurant, so I felt like the whole place could see every ounce of my baldness, in all of it's glory.