J_Friend's Story - (45)

J_friend

Reaction score
Hey folks - j_friend here. I've been coming here on and off (mostly off) for quite a few years now. As my age has increased (I'm 45 now), my complete obsession with MBP has lessened. What's more, I have a very serious girlfriend, who's quite spiritual, so even if the "worst happened" and I lost all my hair ... it probably wouldn't bother her much. However, the truth is, I have a LOT of hair. One would NEVER guess that for the past 27 years, MBP has consumed quite a bit of my thoughts.

It all started when I was 18 - fresh out of high school and now in college. I noticed that some hair was always coming out when I brushed it - much different from before. I also noticed that I eventually couldn't style it in the exact same way - I was definitely thinning. My brother, three years older, was thinning quite a bit ... and our grandpa was bald. Back then, the belief was that the baldness gene was passed from one's mother's side of the family - and it was Mom's dad who was bald. Fear began to set it. I was OVERLY obsessed with my appearance. I was a good lookin' bloke, and the thought of losing my nice head of hair was VERY frightening. Panic set in.

About six months later, I read an article in a local newspaper - some men who were taking the prescription heart medication, Minoxidil, had noticed some "odd" side effects - they were growing hair. Eyebrows were raised in the medical community, and there were some trials going on - pharmacist would crush the pills, add it to a liquid solution, and balding dudes were rubbing it on their heads. In addition, some of these guys had grown hair - and some had their remaining hair grow thicker. Good stuff - perhaps something other than "snake oil" had finally come into the world. What's more, some dermatologists were cool enough to write scripts for their patients - and pharmacists were making their own concoctions - usually at a stiff price. The seed was planted in my head.