Jl8490's Story - Crown thinning, Beware, don't stop!!!

jl8490

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a long time lurker on these boards but it's my first time posting to share my story. I am a 26 year-old Asian Chinese guy and have been losing hair since probably my early 20s.

Edited to add picture I randomly found of my crown from 8.5 years ago January 1, 2003

In terms of family history, just about every male member (father, uncles on both sides, both grandfathers) went bald or are visibly balding though it started fairly late in life for most of them. My grandfathers didn't start losing until their 50s or 60s and my father first got a bad spot on crown in his mid-40s which has expanded greatly since then. Interestingly enough, my dad's hairline never receded, just the crown thinning/bald spot and expansion.

It appears I'm following in my father's footsteps but about 20 years before him. I first noticed increased hair falling late in college and after graduation but everything looked ok in the mirror (from the front, hairline wise) and my girlfriend at the time didn't say anything.

I became concerned in late 2008 when hair was clogging the metal shower drain more and more. I took a picture of my head from above, freaked out and became severely depressed. I don't have that true baseline picture anymore as I deleted it in disgust. In January 2009 I started 5% liquid minoxidil as that's what I had heard about and once saw my dad's bottle in the bathroom at home many years ago. Didn't notice much improvement, if any.

January 28, 2010 I finally got a prescription for 5mg generic Finasteride which I quartered. I made sure to take a picture of the baseline this time and is below. I noticed the amount of shedding had decreased but not much in terms of regrowth within those first months.