Jonathan 89's story - (19 year old starting to thin)

Jonathan 89

Reaction score
ive started to realise that im losing hair after i graduated, during highschool i had lots of hair with full bangs (in grade 9 i had the thick bangs of an emo).

during grade 10 my scalp was red, itchy, and had a lot of pimples. I took some acne medication that was not called acutane (cant remember the name of the medication) but that helped my scalp problem but because i was realy depressed while taking it, i stopped and my acne on my scalp came back for the end of grade 11 and i had this problem for grade 12. During this time i would pick at my scalp constantly to pop the zits that bugged me so much, my scalp basicly felt like a huge scab!

right when grade 12 started, i started to work out (did NOT take any brakes at all and went at least 3-4 times a week) and later when a quarter of the school year was left i started taking protien shakes.

a few months after that i started to realise that i was losing hair. my bangs were not full anymore, they were verry thin at the front and barely any on the sides of my hairline, and after having a shower my scalp would be verry noticable when my hair was wet, which looked realy bad because you could see the redness of my scalp.

Asking my mom to check out my scalp she was alarmed what she saw, she told me the crown area of my scalp looked red like raw hamburger meat and the top/front area of my scalp looked red and irritated.

so we went to see a dermatologist hopeing that its the acne thats causing it and not genes (my father wasnt bald, my mothers father didnt go bald, my two older brothers have lots of hair, buy my mothers brother did go bald right after highschool). Realising that my scalp being red and irritated was something to be concerned about, she said that its not causing me to go bald...

she prescribed me doxycycline for my irritated scalp, and for my hairloss she prescribed me propecia and rogain 5%.