looking for feedback from someone who had hair replacement

karina

Reaction score
Hi
my son is almost 22 and sems that his hairline is receeding and thinning hair at the top of his head.

i have so many questions, dont know where to start:)

- should he wait until 'all' the intended hair falls out or can he have surgery now
- are results from surgery always guaranteed - and does hair replacmeent really work?
- if anyone has pics would be great...

this is my first attempt to find out informaiton - if you have advise on what questions to ask would be great too - any suggestions are welcome..

thank you
Karina

theanimator

Reaction score
Hi Karina,

My advice would be to go see a Dermatologist for a checkup and to get a prescription for Propecia. Get the 5 mg, and cut it into 1/4's....take 1.25 mg daily. (Costco is the cheapest place to get the drug) For better results he should use Minoxidil (Rogaine) as well.

I would suggest (without knowing much else) he use Propecia for 6-9 months and see how he reacts to it. If his hairloss stops or he starts regrowing hair, then you can look into a Hair Transplant.

The thing is that you want to make sure you've stopped the hairloss before getting Hair Replacement. Otherwise in the coming years you'd end up with a tuff of transplanted hair while all the hair around it has fallen out.

1. He should wait until his hair has stopped falling out before getting a hair transplant.
2. I'm pretty sure there's no money-back guarantee on surgerys. But there are different types of surgerys, FUE and FUS. FUS or Strip Surgery has a greater rate of success....somewhere in the high 90% of all transplanted hairs survive. (This is what I had). But to answer your question...Yes, Hair Replacement really works
3. I have pictures up on my Topic. http://www.hairlosstalk.com/interact/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=46020 If you want more graphic ones of right after the surgery, let me know.

do comb in

Reaction score
Hi there