medmax84's story - (Wowsa, 23 and thinning... w Photos)

medmax84

Established Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I am a second year med student and my first year of med school (and more gradually since I graduated high school) has seen a vast thinning in the overall density of my hair. In high school, I had a thick head of hair that could be parted down the middle with complete coverage. It was able to be grown long and was wavy. :shakehead:

At the age of 23, I find myself thinning at the temples and at the crown. A few years ago, I started using minoxidil 5% once daily in the AM. I hate sleeping in it and thinking that I'm getting it on my pillow and then rolling my face around in it! First, I used the generic store brand. About a year ago, I switched to MiN Agent (5% minoxidil plus a few other goodies) and began a shampoo regimen from MiN as well. A year later, my hair continues to thin at the crown especially where I can see the beginnings of a bald spot!! AT 23!

I have been contemplating beginning Propecia in addition to my once daily minoxidil. I realize that I can no longer quit minoxidil, but I do not want to increase my dosage as it will increase the withdrawal symptoms/shedding if I D/C its use. Propecia initially looks like a great option to combat hairloss in terms of halting or even regrowing my hair. I have read that my likelihood of success would be greater because I am younger. Conversely, I have a very active sex life and am actually dating someone that I REALLY like. The other night, I could tell she could notice the thinning because she mentioned I shouldn't run my hands through my hair because I have a nice head of hair and I'd make it fall out. If I start Propecia, I am worried that my libido and/or my ability to attain arousal would decrease. I am GREATLY interested in other people's experiences with the drug and am open to other possibilities as well. Experiences both good and bad are welcome.