MindReader's Story - (of a Slow Process)

MindReader

Reaction score
I first noticed my hairline was receeding when I was 17 years old and a friend pointed it out to me while I was at work. I never really paid close attention to my looks so I hadn't noticed prior, but now that someone else noticed, it had my attention.

Was I going to go bald? After all, my father is bald. I was really nervous because I had been sporting long hair for many years at that point and couldn't imagine myself with a shorter do, let alone no hair! The hairline receeded a little more when I hit my early twenties...enough to make me consider cutting my hair short and actually following through with it. Surprisingly, I liked the new look and others preferred it.

My hairline seemed to stop receeding for a while. I should mention that it was at my temples, and was only barely bad enough to be noticed. For the most part, you would think I just had a very mature hairline. Once I hit 25 (two years ago), I noticed it getting a bit thinner on top. "Oh sh*t" I thought. It has since receeded further north and is now in crown territory. It has been this way the last two years.

Right now, I still have a good amount of hair, and when it's styled it is not too noticeable that I'm losing my hair...but if I were to buzz it off then it would be obvious because it is thinner on top. I just cut it shorter on the sides now and grow the top out a couple of inches to blend it and it works like a charm...but I know this is only temporary.

The good news is that this has been a very slow process of ten years and I still have a decent amount of hair. Some people have suggested that I might be a good candidate for some kind of treatment like minoxidil or finasteride, but I haven't started taking anything yet. I did look into minoxidil but it seems it doesn't treat the temples or the crown, just the rear of the crown spot. Is that true?