Minoxidil And Cats - Any Opinions From Cat Owners

GarthMarenghi

Reaction score
Hello All,

First post here for a long time, but I've used this forum as a good reference for my own hair loss treatment and the information shared on here is excellent.

I have been using Minoxidil for 5-6 years now, but I have a worry about using it while owning a cat.

Our cat passed away last year from heart failure. It was a gradual process, over a few years where symptoms started (vomiting, nervousness) which were not initially recognized as heart failure.

But then last year there were two very sudden episodes, the 2nd of which killed the poor girl. She was actually out of the house both times, and the 2nd fatal episode occurred hours after she returned from 2 weeks at a cattery and had not been exposed to minoxidil over that time at all.

I kept the minoxidil in a room the cat could not get into and I always thoroughly washed my hands after every use, yet our cat died of a heart condition where her lungs filled up with fluid, which is very similar to a short term reaction to minoxidil.

The warnings I have encountered online suggest that a cats reaction to minoxidil usually occur after 8 hours (lethargy) and then after 4 days (fluid filling the lungs, cardiac issues, and ultimately death).

We have just adopted two new cats, and I've cut out minoxidil for the moment. I'm posting here for your opinions? I'm worried exposure over time to minoxidil, via the smell or perhaps or walking through a dried up part of it on my hair, gave my cat her heart failure condition and I certainly don't want to restart until I get some advice. Anyone with a cat here that has had any experience with this?

Thanks in advance for any opinions on this.

G

GarthMarenghi

Reaction score
In addition, as it wouldn't let me add these to the original post, here are some links I have looked at and they seem to present conflicting information.