minoxidil for 14 Months - Now Adding finasteride - HERE WE GO!

hootinthenews

Reaction score
Howdy All,

I am taking the plunge with finasteride tomorrow morning and thought I'd share the progress and shamelessly seek encouragement here.

I've been using minoxidil for 14 months - the use of which encouraged me enough to take the plunge with finasteride.

Backstory: I'm 31 - been losing my hair slowly since an 'incident' shocked a considerable amount out when I was 18. Hairline receded quickly with the crown fading over the last 5 years.

Began using minoxidil in July of '12 and have been pleasantly surprised with the results. Previously the swirl was essentially gone and I used to be able to identify a true 'bald spot' (about the size of a fingertip) where no hair was growing on the crown - now there are hairs all over and no identifiable 'bald spot' as in where it feels like skin with no hair growing..

There has been enough regrowth in the crown that there is now total 'coverage' and although obviously not as thick as I'd prefer, the crown has improved substantially.

I've been using minoxidil all over now for close to a year and while I wouldn't say the hairline has improved I would claim that I have much thicker hair all over now. If I had to quantify this gain I'd say 25% more-dense feeling throughout.

Additionally, I did just go through a incredibly stressful break-up with a live-in girlfriend and experienced a bit of a shed of late - although I believe that has stabilized has time has passed. My crown probably looked much thicker 6 weeks ago. Being that I have light-colored hair this was the first time I had noticed a 'shed'.

My routine:

Finasteride (Generic 5mg quartered) - begin tomorrow!
Rogaine Minoxidil Foam (14 Months) - seems to be the richest lather and irritates my scalp the least compared to generics
RegenePure Dr & NT (1 Month) - every other day
S5 Cream (1 month) - at least once a day