My scalp has gone to hell.

wastingpenguins

Established Member
Reaction score
This is a little long, but I am eternally grateful to anyone who will read through and help me with my questions at the end. :)

So anyway. After being on minoxidil for nearly a year, I saw no changes in any way. No improvement, no slowing of hairloss, but no visible shedding, no irritation, inflammation, or itching. NOTHING.

So I started to get worried, and jumped on the Finasteride train. I've been using brand name Propecia and Nizoral 2% for a little over four months. In the past three months, my hair has been shedding pretty fast. It is visibly thinner than it was three months ago, easily.

Now, I would stay calm and just try to ride this out, but I've got another problem-- FLAKES. My scalp has become insanely peely and flaky, and I've afraid that this is only going to make my hairloss worse and worse.

I went to the Derm about five days ago. Her first impression was that it looked like Telogen Effluvium, and she questioned me about stress and medical conditions. Of course, there is definite history in my family for male pattern baldness, so...

First she suggested stopping minoxidil for some other things, but I expressed my concern with stopping-- she agreed that I might actually lose hair from stopping, so she said to just stick with it for now.

She told me to stop the nizoral and put me on a shampoo called Loprox, as well as a 2X per day topical solution called Lidex. She told me that if we can get my scalp under control, there's a good chance of me keeping my hair for now.

1) How much does flaking have to do with hairloss? Is it the same as the dreaded "inflammation" that I hear so much about? Itching isn't bad, I only have a VERY slight itch every once in a while-- it's mostly just flakes peeling off my scalp.

2) Anyone ever heard of Loprox/Lidex?