Need Advice - what should I do about my hair loss? Pics

birdistheword

Reaction score
Hello. I'm a 35 year old male - my dad went bald and so did my grandfather. I know it's bound to happen to me. I've always had this bald spot at the back of my head ever since i was probably 15. I didn't think much of it until my late teens when the bald spot started to grow. My hairline is starting to recede but I don't have really heavy hair loss. I can shower and wash my hair and I don't really lose much...but I know it's a slow process that I can't avoid. What do you suggest? Do you think I'm a candidate for surgery? I'm skeptical of taking medicines or foams and I was thinking about the transplants. I'm new to all this - i'm not sure what category I fall in (Norwood 3? 4?). Thanks for all your advice. Fortunately I live in Los Angeles which provides me with many great cosmetic surgeons.
thanks hair01.jpghair02.jpghair03.jpghair04.jpghair05.jpg

ProscarRules

Reaction score
Well, your crown looks more like thinning. I don't think it's a bald spot yet. You can certainly consult with a hair transplant surgeon in LA metropolitan area if they give free consultation. I think all the options they will give is 1) Do nothing and wear a wig down the road 2) Propecia and/or Rogaine 3) Surgery. I am no doctor, but I think common sense would dictate surgery as a last resort.

Please let us know what any hair transplant surgeon advises you if you consult with any.

I would like to know what a hair transplant surgeon would say about your crown if your crown has been thin for 20 years.

Best of luck.

birdistheword

Reaction score