New Forum Member, First Day of Finasteride is TODAY

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

Quick bio:
I'm a 25 year old grad student who has been thinning for 9-12 months almost exclusively at the hairline. I'm about a Norwood 2-2.5, and it shows no sign of stopping. My maternal side of the family has no hair loss, but my father, his brother, and his dad are all bald (and already were by my age).

About 9 months ago, I had a weird body change that I believe to be a maturation similar to a second puberty. I got acne for the first time in 6 years, my hair started receding/shedding.

I've seen a GP and a dermatologist about my hairloss. The GP was worthless, insincere, and incompetent (at least for hairloss). He threw me a bottle of 2% keto and said good day. The keto aggravated my scalp and caused me to get itchy and flakey. I discontinued. The dermatologist was really cool and competent; she offered me finasteride if I really wanted it, but advised I wait 3 months to see if my hair continues to deter. That was in November, and the appointment was to be next week, which I have cancelled to save myself from an eternity of follow-up visits and prescriptions. Both had me get blood work done which tested out fine across the board (including Free T).

After hours and hours of hair loss research, I decided to self-medicate. Today arrived my 5mg Fincar from inhousepharmacy. Needless to say, I'm pretty stoked.

I'm a very emotionally stable dude, so don't expect me to be some manic, propeciahelp.com-esque homeboy to cry of testicular pain and boner loss. (not to mitigate some other member's real sides):laugh:

Current hair status: