Newbie: Combining Finasteride with Dutasteride!

G

Hi guys,
I am very new to hair loss and to this forum (as far as registration) but have been scanning the postings for the last 2 months.
10 weeks ago I noticed that my hairline was thinning a bit but has not yet receded so decided immediately to take action and got myself Proscar, Dr. Lee's 5% Minoxidil Solution (2x a day) and Nizoral 2% Shampoo (2x a week).
It has been 2 months and no negative side effects.
My question is; is anyone here taking Finasteride (Propecia/Proscar) as well as Dutasteride?
Is it too crazy to combine them? Say Finasteride 0.5mg and Dutasteride 0.5mg.
Is it playing with fire???
Just a thought. :D
Thanks in advance,
Ventje

outgrowth

Established Member
Reaction score
well, if you dont mind if your dick shrinks, its totally ok..

take just dutasteride..

oni

Reaction score
I have tried it for 4 months you will just shed like hell but I did not get any side effects. I was taking 1.25mg finasteride with 0.5mg dutasteride.

Bismarck

Reaction score
great idea: finasteride+dutasteride = unbelievable 160% DHT inhibition !!!!

bis :wink:

oni

Reaction score
Yeah it's great you shed and shed and shed it's wonderful :shock:
And 4 months later you are still shedding lol! that's when you stop taking one of them and amazingly the shed stops funny that!

oni

Reaction score
Ventje if your hair is in ok shape why don't you just take the finasteride and use the nizoral once in a while it will save you money and piss arsing about putting the minoxidil on.

BadHairDecade

Reaction score
Just stick with the recommended dose of finasteride. There's no need to even think about dutasteride right now. I'd even go as far as saying minoxidil may be overkill since you said you only noticed your hair thinning 10 weeks ago.

BHD

G

Thanks guys for the input.
You did scare the @#$% out of me :freaked2:
2 months on Proscar (2.5 mg) and no negative side effects and no shedding either. (Touch wood!!).