NEWBIE HERE! With a question

PartTimeNinja

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I have now been visiting this forum for about 6 months and finally pulled myself together to participate.

I am a 27 year old (almost 28) from Australia and I discovered my hairloss about 8 months ago with the usual Hair on the pillow, hair on hands when styling and showering. I guess I am a 2 on the Norwood Scale.

in february this year I went to my doctor and he perscibed me Propecia which I have been taking since 1st of March this year. I also added Nizoral 2% 3 times a week. I am now getting close to my 4 months on Propecia. The first couple of months I was shedding like hell then the 3. month it slowed down and now the 4. month the shedding has returned. the 1st of June i started Rogaine 5% on my bare temples and the middle front.
I had a really good head of hair before I started and was really only hoping to maintain and now my hair is really thin on the front and vertex. The good news is that the last couple of weeks I have been feeling tons of small hairs coming out all over the scalp although I have not been able to see anything so far.
My current shedding period is a bit wierd. The hairs that are falling out appear to be healty hairs and are mostly the same thickness all over as well as the same pigmentation.

My questions are: Has anybody experienced shedding as long as month 4? (please note that the shed is not from minoxidil areas).
If my shed is growing back is this a sign Propecia is working?
Why am I shedding healty hair that appears to not be affected by DHT?

PartTimeNinja

Thanks so much for provided a great spot for info HairLossTalk.com -

G

The finasteride basically kick starts the growth phase so all the hairs that are falling are because new hairs are pushing there way through. It kind of re-alligns all the hairs into growth phase. This is why you shed all over your head!

I think that's correct.

PartTimeNinja

Established Member
Reaction score