Opinions required

hussan882

Reaction score
Thanks for taking time to read the post - need some input as I'm struggling to understand whats happening with my hair.

I have thinning on my crown and temples, I'm 37 years old. I went to see a derm who did a range of tests diagnosed it as male pattern baldness, advised I start to use minoxidil 5%, I have been applying foam (day) liquid (night) for approximately 6 months. I apply it to my crown and temples.

I seemed to respond ok to minoxidil on the crown, though hasnt really done much if anything for my temples (if anything I have lost hair on my left temple which hasnt grown back yet). I didnt have a major shed when starting minoxidil but I did thin out where it was applied...I definitely have lost hair from the rest of my head (where I wasnt applying minoxidil) it has thinned out significantly. I'm not sure if that was my male pattern baldness progressing or a side effect of minoxidil?

So fast forward about 3 months and I was continuing to lose hair from the middle of my head...so I finally bit the bullet and started finasteride .5mg ED.

For the first 4.5 months, my shedding didnt really change or decrease, it was pretty consistent until the last 4-5 weeks where it has increased significantly, but primarily from where I am applying minoxidil i.e. crown and temples. My hairline (excluding temples) has improved, thicker hair...the middle is still thinning out...

Primarily I loose hair every morning - probably in the region of 30ish (when i run my hands through my hair) and about 40ish when I shower and style my hair, my crown has thinned out significantly...its really thin compared to how it was a few months ago. Thats what I notice, I'm sure I am losing hair at other times too but I am trying not to think about it all the time.