please tell me your experiences with minoxidil

dr spock

Reaction score
I am new to this hairloss stuff. 20 year old guy, noticed i'm thinning a little on top. I want to do something to stop it before it gets worse. (male pattern baldness is in the genes). Did a bunch of research for the past few weeks, and I've decided against finasteride for now, but looking more towards a minoxidil regimine to start since it seems like good first step to take. As I understand, it needs to be applied once in the AM, once in the PM.

I heard that it leaves a white powder after it dries. How much powder are we talkin about here? a spec here or there, or white christmas? Is it really bad looking? How long does it take to dry, and how long does it take to get the powder out of your hair? Is it possible to wake up, apply it, wait for it to dry, and get rid of the white stuff all before I arrive to work?

I am concerned about not being able to style my hair, or even wear it unstyled without being noticed that this stuff is on my scalp. How do you even apply it? (I couldn't find this information anywhere)

I heard dr. lee's formula is a bit less greasy. What brand minoxidil do you guys use? Can you guys give tips and daily routines that you use? When to shower, etc. I want the minoxidil to be as undetectable in my scalp as possible. It's not like everyone needs to know that i'm using it.

Sorry for all the questions

Thanks a bunch :)

TortoiseAndHair

Established Member
Reaction score
I am new to this hairloss stuff. 20 year old guy, noticed i'm thinning a little on top. I want to do something to stop it before it gets worse. (male pattern baldness is in the genes). Did a bunch of research for the past few weeks, and I've decided against finasteride for now, but looking more towards a minoxidil regimine to start since it seems like good first step to take. As I understand, it needs to be applied once in the AM, once in the PM.
Yes