propecia shed

youngnat

Reaction score
hi there

just wondering how many (if any) of you out there that has shed from propecia (but wait...) kept going with it only to find your hair got worse and worse, didnt thicken back up and now you have terrible thin hair on top?

im just over the 4month mark with propecia, i started shedding around 2 months i think and it wasnt until a couple weeks ago that the shedding appears to have stopped (maybe thats cos i have not alot of hair to shed anymore)

fingers crossed. but obvious anxiety from my new found thin look has me on edge and many times i have thought about stopping the drug, yet always in the back of my mind is the fact that maybe the drug isnt working and in fact the shed is the normal accelerated balding process one goes through.

dave88

Reaction score
Iv'e been on finasteride for 9 months now and I've been shedding almost steadily since the 4-5 months mark. My hair is definately worse now than when i started. I'm giving it till the year mark to see forsure if it's helping or not, but if not then im getting off it. a member on this forum named dryouseff put up a post not to long ago about people with diffuse thinning, like me, are less likely to respond to finasteride and in some cases it makes it worse. Something to do with the raised testosterone levels. Look him up and his posts to read further, but I'm definately worried myself. Cross your fingers tightly!

youngnat

Reaction score
yea i always worry and i know im not alone going by these forums and others i have read, however the funny thing is theres alot of talk about the dreaded 'shed' yet alot of hair transplant doctors dont appear to know too much about its causes, however i know the theory behind it. I am not a diffuse thinner, but have thinning hair around the frontal and top region (tuft of hair on the front) which i think is the worst male pattern baldness in terms of hair pattern.