Propecia Shedding Question

cooliobeanz

Reaction score
Ok...took the plunge and started propecia, been taking it for just about 2 weeks now. I am starting to shed MASSIVELY!!! I'm counting 100+ hairs in the shower now :crazy: :thumbsdown: The thinning area on the top of my head is now getting really thin and you can see my scalp when I part my hair. My question is this: is this normal? I've read on this board and others that shedding after a few weeks is generally a good sign that the meds are starting to take effect (things get worse before it gets better?) At what point should the shedding stop? Any answers or thoughts would be greatly appreciated. I'm new to this hair loss thing so if the "vets" on the board can help me out it would really set my mind at ease.

treeshrew

Experienced Member
Reaction score
i made a shedding post too - one when i shedded on propecia (mostly crown/back of head), and another when i shedded on minoxidil (hairline).

months later it has all grown in thicker and is looking good. can't speak for others, but my experience is shedding means it's working!

Avery

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm 6 months in and shedding like CRAZY. I'm coming out with 50-100 hairs every time I apply Rogaine, and it's been happening for a month or more now. Fortunatly, I don't see any cosmetic difference, which I think is a good sign. This happened when I started as well and my hair looks better than it has in years, so I'm optimistic about this shed.

FlashDance

Established Member
Reaction score