Retin-A. Just started

kbraves1

Reaction score
I am new to posting on these forums. I have started a regimen that consist of Nizoral 2%, Fincar 1.25%, Minoxidil 5% and Retin A .0125. I am using the Retin-A nightl and topping it off with 5 %. I just started this group the past few weeks. I would like to know if anyone has had any success or problems using the retin-A with the big three? Any information would be greatly appreciated. I am going to be uploading my pics soon. I will be doing the monthly. My hair is good in the back and top. I have a receeding front. I am 38 now and have had a slow loss of hair since I was 20. I have tried gimmicks off and on. I have liked using "Nioxin" shampoo though. I have been using it for about two years. Seems to be good for maintaining..but not much for growing. Look forward to any replies. Sincerely

Petchsky

Reaction score
Never used Retin A, but i hear it helps increase absorption of minoxidil.

Slartibartfast

Reaction score
Just like Petchsky I'm afraid, never used Retin-A myself but it does apparently aid the absorption of minoxidil.

Anyone out there on this stuff with something constructive to add?

mvpsoft

Experienced Member
Reaction score
Retin-A is an exfoliant, which means it sloughs off the top layer of skin cells. It is likely to cause flaking of the scalp, so make sure you're using a good coal tar shampoo on the days you're not using Nizoral.

Thinning Sucks

Experienced Member
Reaction score
I used it for a few years mixed with minoxidil.....saw no real difference, but only a very itchy, sometimes huge flakey scalp and the couvre did not go on as well in the morning (had to stop because of this).

The Rock

Established Member
Reaction score
what is a coal-tar shampoo

mvpsoft

Experienced Member
Reaction score
The Rock said:
what is a coal-tar shampoo