Robbie81's Story - ( 27 /premature hair loss or Telogen Effluvium?)

robbie81

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm new to dealing with hair loss so please bear with me.

Background: I'm a 27 year old male of South Asian origin. About 10 or 11 years ago I first noticed I'd have more than average amounts of hair shedding when I washed my hair. I chalked that up to high school stress because it soon went away and everything was kosher. Back then I had incredible hair density so hair loss was never visible.

Since then I never really paid attention to hair density. However over the last month or so I've noticed that my scalp on the top of my head is starting to show under bright light such as in the bathroom. Also when I wash and style my hair I see large amount of hair (somewhere in the 50-75 range) in addition to hair on my pillow when I wake up in the morning.

Now that I'm more aware of my hair loss it's on my mind 24/7. I'm attaching a few pictures that I took in the afternoon. I'd appreciate any feedback on whether this is male pattern baldness or some other condition that I am not aware of.

Thanks,
Robbie

[attachment=1:z7dw1ery]IMG_0071.jpg[/attachment:z7dw1ery]
[attachment=2:z7dw1ery]IMG_0070.jpg[/attachment:z7dw1ery]
[attachment=0:z7dw1ery]IMG_0072.jpg[/attachment:z7dw1ery]

Attachments

• IMG_0070.jpg
    IMG_0070.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 164
  • IMG_0071.jpg
    IMG_0071.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 161
  • IMG_0072.jpg
    IMG_0072.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 168

blink

Established Member
Reaction score
Re: 27 y.o male - premature hair loss or T Effluvium?

my orientation on your pictures is a little off but it seems like male pattern baldness to me. of course, the recommended thing to do is go to a doctor and get a confirmation but if everyone else says it's male pattern baldness, id skip going to see a dermatologist, save yourself the money and get on propecia and/or rogaine.

robbie81

Reaction score