Rogaine is making me go bald!

thinning_esteem

Established Member
Reaction score
Well sort of. I've been using minoxidil 2% for about 5 months now. I always used it pretty sparingly around my hairline because of the itchiness. It seemed to be doing absolutely nothing for me.
So about 3 weeks ago I upped the amount I use at one time. Probably brought it up to the the amount I was supposed to be using. I started going a little father back from my trouble area and applying forward.
Anyway, long story, short. Itchy, redness, swelling, tenderness etc. ensued. I've scratched so much goddamned hair out of my head it's ridiculous.
Enough with this sh*t. I now have a prescription for finasteride. I'm no longer looking to gain just maintain what I have and grow it a little longer. While I save for a mild transplant.

dem

Established Member
Reaction score
its a normal reaction. I had a similar side effects. it should go away with time. if it doesn't then stop use.

thinning_esteem

Established Member
Reaction score
it's been off and on since I started using it. This was the final straw. I've been off it for about a week and most of the scratched out hair has grown back as well as some hair I lost a few months ago.
I plan to use the rest of the bottle sparingly, just so it doesn't go to waste. After getting on finasteride, I'm going to try to hunt doen some rogaine foam.

RaginDemon

Reaction score
so many f*****g whinning babies here. Try to realize shedding is part of the recovery for fucks sake.

thinning_esteem

Established Member
Reaction score
Hmmmm how about you go f*ck yourself.
Read my entire post you dumb sh*t. The hair was not falling out, I was scratching it out. The area in which i applied the rogaine became very red, swollen and painful to touch. This is not normal.
It was so bad I was scratching myself in my sleep and would wake up in a lot of pain. It was so bad I couldn't apply shampoo to the area, and even had a hard time wearing a hat.