Rules to live by when losing your hair (update 1)

HairlessinToronto

Reaction score
I'm 32 years old and I'm losing my hair. I've been losing it for the past 7 years and just this year, I've made a commitment to try and do everything in my power to keep what I have. I however live be a few rules with my thinning scalp and I'll like to pass it on:

1.) Keep your hair short. I can't stand looking at guys who are obviously losing their hair and growing it longer than Julia Roberts. After the initial shock of seeing yourself with short hair, you'll get use to it and so will everyone around you. It's easier to maintain and work with if you're using topical treatments.

2.) Don't get so depressed about your thinning scalp that you don't want to go anywhere (especially when your friends have all their hair). I know this one is tough but don't miss out on life because your best friends have thicker hair than Tom Cruise.

3.) A lot of guys grow a goatee to compensate for their thinning scalp. They're probably hoping that this looks gives them an edge and maybe the women will think they're mysterious enough because they look like a "bad boy". If growing a goatee gets you through the day, then grow away but I do think the look is dated.

4.) Don't wear a baseball cap everywhere you go because you're embarrased about your recession. If you keep it short and neat, you'll find that you don't need to hide behind a baseball cap.

5.) If someone is making fun of your receding hairline and it's starting to bother you, tell them to F off or go F themselves. They'll get the message loud and clear. You didn't ask for your hair loss so why should you be the butt of anyones jokes? It's ok if it bothers you. You're only human. If you were born without a body part and someone started making fun of you, you'd have a right to be upset. Remember, only do this if it's bothering you. I personally have a thick skin.