Shedding at Hairline???

BlindFan

Established Member
Reaction score
Hey I'm a newbie here thinking of starting propecia. I've begun to thin a bit around my hairline/temple area only. It's not very noticeable to anybody yet except myself. I'm considering taking propecia to stop any further thinning/loss in it's tracks, kind of a pre-emptive strike type of thing. My only concern is this, I have read on some of these discussions that people who had a full intact hairline began to take propecia to only see their hairline continue to recede, or worse, shed the hair by their hairline/temple region and it never grew back the same. I know propecia is less sucessful with the hairline area (what a shame), but to what extent is this true? Can anybody please give their personal results with their hairlines/temples after starting finasteride. Any input would be deeply appreciated, thanks!

Norsk

Established Member
Reaction score
Are you certain that it's actually the beginning of male pattern baldness and not just the onset of a "mature hairline"?

BlindFan

Established Member
Reaction score
No, I am not sure...I wish it was a mature hairline but I have reason to believe it's not. I visited a hair transplant doctor in the city who looked at my hair and my history and told me that it will only get worse unless I start propecia and rogaine. I've also heard that these kind of doctors can not be trusted and to see my dermatologist instead. My father went bald in his twenties as well ( I am 20 years old) and his father is bald too, although my mothers side of the family all have full heads of hair. I do feel that my hair has thinned a little bit in the front/hairline area, and I can notice it when it is wet, it just looks different (kind of flimsier). Also I am noticing hairs falling out here and there, especially when I am in the shower. I don't know what this means though, I wish it was nothing but I guess I'm the type of guy who expects the worst and hopes for the best.