Shedding from minoxidil

seeves

Reaction score
I have been applying minoxidil for nearly 6 months (since oct 06) and it seems that i am starting to thin very badly in only the places i apply it. I am hoping it is associated with the shed i am going through and will come back thicker in the next few months. I took pictures in january and again in march, and the ones in march look much much worse than januarys. There is no way i could have naturaly thinned up this much in that short of time so i am hoping this is purely a shed that i will recover from. Has anyone else had a similar experience with minoxidil at any point in their treatment?

UK1

Experienced Member
Reaction score
I've been on the foam for 2 months, it's been none stop shedding for over a month now but I can see lots of small hairs growing on my temples and hairline so I'm hanging in there, can you see any regrowth?

justin

Established Member
Reaction score
i'm having the same problem, about 4 or 5 months in. i'm kind of freaking out, to be honest. there's no way my hair could've gotten like this naturally, it looks very unusual. it's basically left me with tiny hairs about an inch or two into my hairline. looks nuts, like someone just took a buzzer to certain parts of the front of my hair. the hair where i don't apply minoxidil has stayed the same. i'm kind of at a loss right now, and feel like i should've never started treatment, as my hair was not bad at all and i really only had prevention and mantainence in mind.

justin

Established Member
Reaction score
does anyone know a way to figure if minoxidil is having an adverse reaction to your scalp? it would have to irritate it, correct?

justin

Established Member
Reaction score