shedding hairs have changed, does this mean anything?

dietcola

Experienced Member
Reaction score
i've been losing my hair rapidly for 2 years (ish). i'm one month on finasteride and about to start minoxidil. i used to run my fingers through my hair and get long thick hairs coming out, healthy ones. now i get substantially less hairs comming out, and they are only small thin ones that don't grow longer than an inch or so and are clearly falling out already.

does this mean anything?

WorldofWarcraft

Experienced Member
Reaction score
dietcola said:
i've been losing my hair rapidly for 2 years (ish). i'm one month on finasteride and about to start minoxidil. i used to run my fingers through my hair and get long thick hairs coming out, healthy ones. now i get substantially less hairs comming out, and they are only small thin ones that don't grow longer than an inch or so and are clearly falling out already.

does this mean anything?

I have only been on finasteride for a week but I notice the same thing. I do see hairs falling out, but only these week thin ones, and yes, they are about 1 inch max (maybe 1/2 inch usually).

Also, the insane itching in my temple hairloss region has stopped.

I am no doctor, but I pray this means that my weak DHT depleted hairs are falling out so that healthy ones can take their place, and that the healthy hairs are not falling out because less DHT is attacking them.

haunted-ballroom

Experienced Member
Reaction score
dietcola said:

does this mean anything?

I used to think that the really small hairs coming out were just breakages... Dont know for sure but I know women complain about this all the time lol

dietcola

Experienced Member
Reaction score
they can't be broken hairs, because at the end they get smaller and pointy, as in they have never been broken or cut.

WorldofWarcraft

Experienced Member
Reaction score
dietcola said: